The New Community

Twelve years ago, I graduated from California State University Sacramento with a B.A. in philosophy.  As a student, I had been involved in the CSUS Intervarsity Christian Fellowship.  Last month, IV was derecognized by the entire California State University system.

Six years ago, I graduated from a Christian theological seminary, this time with an M.A. in philosophy.  Since I was not pursuing a doctorate, I tried to get some teaching experience via an internship at a local community college.  Since there were no professors willing to take me under their wing for a semester, however, my internship was rejected.

Contrary to what I had heard as a teenager, the secular state university was not hostile to my Christian faith.  One of my favorite professors there was a militant atheist who focused on the arguments, not on mockery.  Another professor was so objective that the Christian students wondered if he was one of us.  A chance lunch meeting with this professor enabled him to relay to me that becoming a college professor would be more difficult because I was a white Christian male.  “There are already too many of us,” he said.  Since my ambitions were small, I thought I would be able to avoid the places where those attitudes dominated.  I wanted to teach introductory philosophy classes, not stir the pot or proselytize.

When I applied for an internship at a local community college, I never dreamed that I would be denied because of where I went to school.  In an “off-the-record” meeting with an administrator, I was told that none of the professors wanted to help me out because I was from a conservative Christian institution.  That I had studied philosophy at a secular university was irrelevant.  I was from the wrong place.  The fact that I agree with Plantinga disqualified me from teaching Plato.

I am finally writing about this not because I want sympathy, but because I want people to know where we are headed.  In the “old” community, one needed only to live within a certain area to be considered part of the community.  Although people have different religious and political beliefs, these were never thought to disqualify a person from full participation in the community writ large.  Some of the teachers at the schools in the suburban community where I grew up went to churches in the community; others didn’t.  Nobody checked.  If you had studied the subject in question, and had the necessary prerequisites, you were qualified.

In the “new” community, this is not the case.  Although I have all the necessary prerequisites, they are no longer sufficient.  In the “new” community, I need to also have the right religious and political beliefs.

Wax On